Richmond County Chamber of Commerce |
page-template-default,page,page-id-16731,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-16.6,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7,vc_responsive


  • Share:
January 17, 2017
For Immediate Release
Southeast Bracket Championship Added to Already Busy Fall Race Schedule
            ROCKINGHAM, N.C. – As if Rockingham Dragway’s fall schedule wasn’t busy enough with the Super Chevy Show, the NHRA Lucas Oil Series, the Jim McClure All-Harley Nitro Nationals, the Street Outlaws, ManCup, IDBL World Finals and the SRI Performance Fall Civil Wars, owner Steve Earwood announced Tuesday that the track has been named the new home of the NHRA’s Summit Racing ET Finals.
            The Southeast Division ET Finals will be contested at The Rock Oct. 5-8, 2017, with racers from 19 tracks in seven states and Puerto Rico eligible to participate.  The series has been contested nationally, in seven separate divisions, for the last 41 years.  The Southeast Summit ET Finals most recently was contested at Atlanta Dragway.
            “It’s tradition and history made Rockingham Dragway a perfect site for this prestigious event,” said Rich Schaefer, NHRA Southeast Division Director.  “Under Steve’s ownership, the track always has catered to the grassroots racer and his crew does a great job of track prep and logistics.”
The decision to move the Summit ET Finals to The Rock came during the annual NHRA Track Operators Meetings last week at Jekyll Island in Georgia.
            “It’s great for our track, for Richmond County and for all our neighbors because it attracts racers, sponsors and spectators from across the Southeast,” Earwood said of the ET Finals.  “We’re looking forward to showing them everything our area has to offer.”
* * * *
At Atlanta:
2016 NHRA Summit Racing Series Southeast Division ET Finals:
SUPER PRO -- Timmy Smith, Roanoke, Ala., dragster, 4.925, 129.82 mph, def. Joseph Bagwell, Hendersonville, N.C.,1964 Chevy II, foul.
PRO ET -- Van Greer, Kingsport, Tenn., dragster, 7.776, 88.42 mph, def. Brandon Bailey, Abingdon, Va., dragster, foul.
SPORTSMAN -- Seth Bevins, Albany, Ga., 1986 Camaro, 7.799, 88.05 mph, def. Russell Haskins, Marietta, Ga., 2013 Mustang, foul.
SUPER PRO MOTORCYCLE -- Candy Hagadorn, Venice, Fla., 5.723, 109.42 mph, def. Rick Scott Jr, Greenbrier, Tenn., 5.726, 116.99 mph.
HIGH SCHOOL -- Gage Burch, Palmetto, Fla., dragster, 8.208, 83.61 mph, def. Seth Bevins, Albany, Ga., 1986 Camaro, 7.827, 87.37 mph.